Canadian Underwriter

Outstanding brokers recognized for community and professional contributions as part of the 2013 IBAO Awards of Excellence

October 28, 2013   by Canadian Underwriter

Print this page

Linda Papadopoulos of Pearson Dunn Insurance Inc. in Stony Creek, Ontario has been honoured as broker of the year by the Insurance Brokers Association of Ontario (IBAO).

AwardsPapadopoulos, a broker for almost three decades, is a volunteer career ambassador for the Insurance Institute, IBAO notes in a statement issued Monday. She also sits on a committee that gathers fundraising support for Good Shepard Centre for Hamilton and is a major supporter and fundraiser for the Women of the Year Award with Hamilton’s YMCA.

Papadopoulos was among the recipients of the 2013 IBAO Awards of Excellence, held during a special gala at IBAO’s 93rd Annual Convention in Toronto last week.

The awards recognize insurance brokers and brokerages throughout Ontario for their achievements and initiatives, through their local work as businesspeople and as involved and caring citizens, notes a statement from the IBAO.

Individuals also honoured with a 2013 IBAO Awards of Excellence are as follows:

  • IBAO Awards 2013Young Broker of the Year: Scott Sleightholm of Smith Petrie Carr & Scott Insurance Brokers in Ottawa. Sleightholm, director of the Ottawa Insurance Brokers Association, is involved with the Boys and Girls Club of Ottawa and also serves as an “insurance ambassador” in his community.
  • Affiliate of the Year: Among other things, the Insurance Brokers Association of Durham Region hosts a number of “broker awareness days” by donating the association’s Bipper-branded magenta blankets to members of the community for what they call “warm and fuzzy” moments.
  • Brokerage of the Year: W.B. White Insurance in Oshawa, Ontario has been a family-owned brokerage for more than 80 years. Most proud of its community involvement, W.B. White Insurance raises food and toys every year for Simcoe Settlement Hall and works closely with the Humane Society.

In addition, Rick Orr, IBAO’s current chairman of the board, was the recipient of the Wally Wood Award. The award is presented to someone who selflessly devotes themselves to this association, its members, its goals and objectives.

Orr, past president of the IBAO, was recognized for his tireless dedication to the association throughout his past 10 years on the IBAO board and executive.

“We are very excited to recognize and award these outstanding brokers for not only the great service they offer their clients, but for the profound impact they make in their communities,” says IBAO CEO Randy Carroll.

“This group of people are an example of the great work being done in our industry across the province,” Carroll emphasizes.