Canadian Underwriter

Update, Alberta floods

June 20, 2005   by Canadian Underwriter

Print this page Share

In a recent statement, Deputy Prime Minister Anne McLellan recently offered Rob Renner, Minister of Municipal Affairs, any assistance required to aid against the damage caused by relentless floods in Alberta.
McLellan, Canada’s Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, says a liaison officer from Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada’s Alberta Regional Office is monitoring the situation from the Provincial Emergency Operations Centre. She adds that the Government Operations Centre will monitor and assess the situation which Environment Canada reports has left Calgary and areas to the southwest with more than 100 mm of rain fall 24 hours a day.
“We are also concerned with the current situation in Saskatchewan,” McLellan says.
Her statement comes in sync with flood warning announcements for North Saskatchewan River, which is affecting the Town of Drayton Valley and the City of Edmonton where heavy rainfall and high water have impacted roads, bridges and other infrastructure, instigating the closure of roadways and triggering several thousand evacuations. Cochrane, west of Calgary, is one of the most damaged regions, suffering with ground saturation that triggered a mudslide. In Redwood Meadows, northeast of Bragg Creek, 90% of the homes were flooded with as much as two meters of water. City officials indicate it is too early to determine if sewage has mixed with rainwater, thus enabling potential insurance claims.
Further reports indicate flooding of the North Saskatchewan River will cause minor flooding in low-lying areas, parks and golf courses. In addition, flood warnings are in effect for Red Deer River, the James River, Raven River and Little Red Deer River, as well as the Bow River Basin, Fish Creek, Jumpingpound Creek and the Elbow River upstream and downstream of the Glenmore Dam.
Edmonton – river valley, the Town of Rocky Mountain House, High River, MD Foothills, Black Diamond, the Town of Okotoks, Mountainview County, Sundre, Red Deer County, Clearwater County, Tsuu T’ina First Nation, City of Red Deer, Siksika First Nation, Drumheller, Calgary and Starland County, have all declared local states of emergency.
“We are continuing to monitor events there in collaboration with provincial officials.”
Federal Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements have recently been initiated to offer assistance to provincial efforts to assist communities in the recovery and rebuilding process. McLellan notes, under the terms of these arrangements, the federal government can reimburse the provinces for expenditures relating to recent disasters if certain requirements are met.

Print this page Share

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *