Canadian Underwriter

New leadership roles announced for Lawrie Insurance Group

December 16, 2019   by Jason Contant

Print this page Share

The Lawrie Insurance Group has announced that Bob Lawrie will assume the role of CEO and David Leadbetter the role of president of the property and casualty brokerage effective Jan. 1, 2020.

Bob Lawrie will assume the role of CEO of Lawrie Insurance Group effective Jan. 1, 2020.

Founder Dan Lawrie will serve as chair over the next couple of years in the transition of the company leadership to the next generation, Lawrie Insurance Group said in an announcement Friday.

“Dan has been an incredible mentor both in the leadership of the company and within our community,” said incoming CEO Bob Lawrie. “As his business partner, it has been an honour to work with him over the past 30 years as we have grown the company into one of the largest and most trusted insurance brokers in Canada.”

The Lawrie Insurance Group Inc. is a privately-owned, multi-disciplined insurance brokerage specializing in commercial and personal insurance, employee benefits, life and group retirement solutions. With a staff of over 100 professionals, the brokerage is a member of the Canadian Broker Network (CBN), Intersure and Globex International, giving it affiliated offices across Canada, the United States and globally.

David Leadbetter will become president of Lawrie Insurance Group on Jan. 1, 2020.

Bob Lawrie said the company is “strategically focused and well-positioned to achieve long-term exponential growth domestically and internationally through our multi-disciplined, holistic approach in working with clients.”

Leadbetter added that he is looking forward to his new role, including maintaining the high standards established by Dan Lawrie in 1982.

In his new role as chair, Dan Lawrie will continue to be involved in both leading the company and supporting several ongoing, company and community projects.

Print this page Share

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *